Week 4: Work(less)

I got to be more consistent in my blogging because right now it’s like a on/off weekly postings; not putting the lack of technology in account, though I do have multiple post this time around because of my lack of access to the world wide web (old school!!!) but I digress, Though I think that it takes about 2-3 weeks for me to actually process anything in my mind because of the all the other things that are in my mind as I work up at a camp manager.

I think this blogs title is a good summary of what week 4 was like; at this time I look back into week 2-3 post and try and figure out what I was expecting in week 4…and so to sum up the first 5 days of week 4 it was a lot of working, for the various groups that I assigned work to, and workless; which I was doing because I was sitting in the office for the most part either planning the next project for the group that was up there to help or just figuring out the next step to progress in my own managerial skills in making mental checklist and being clear and concise in my communication. In my previous blog I talk about how I know God is taking care of everything but talk is cheap. How I am really supposed to say to God take care of this thing and then not take any actions afterwards. I mean I can say he is in control but I still feel that I have to follow through with something or else I feel that nothing is really done. To me these thoughts definitely occur at camp because in all honestly, if I was in the in the city with a slump in my motivation of working, I would probably be drowning it out with video game or shows to take my mind off of the task at hand.

So all the craziness of week 4 was caused, not so much managing the work quality of those around me but rather a self-degradation of my own personal work ethic, character, lack of faith and trust in God and resolve to be a good camp manager. I mean I would just sit there during the morning and afternoon hours of work and be on the laptop, looking over agreements, checking the schedules, trying to “look busy” when in all honestly I wasn’t doing much at all; for those above me I apologize of my lack of enthusiasm that week it was not a good week for me. Yet the redeeming grace of my week would have to be returning to the city just in time for Dr. Stuart Briscoe to speak the OCM’s English Revival.

*side note* For the first time in my life, I drove down to New York City from Camp on a very raining Friday morning…and it was AWESOME.

And so the reminder of my week 4 was focused on listening to an amazing servant of God with an awesome English accent. I was excited to be back as I checked my email just before I left to go back to the city that he was going to be speaking because I remember his exposition of Philemon 5 years prior and I was floor about how Dr. Briscoe was able to dissect the entire book over the course of 3 days and more specifically the Sunday message that focused on just one verse in the entire book. Initially analyzing the theme of “Church is not somewhere we Go, Church is something we Are” was perplexing to me because I thought, isn’t that a given? The song “If We Are the Body” by Casting Crowns resonates in my ears as I thought about the theme and that every time I gathered with brothers and sisters from different nationalities, regardless of race we were One Body; the Church in which Christ intends to marry. Though oks, I know this already it should just be a refresher and I’ll be good, but was I ever so wrong.

As many have heard the Bible being called the Living Word, some take it as just another synonym. Yet I believe that every time you read the bible that it speaks something new to you, even when you have read the same passage before or heard it from a sermon. That weekend revival I was floor again about how God was able to speak through a message reminding me about what the community around me was, who I was in its relation and how it all comes together in the end. More on that if you ask me personally because I can’t contain all the nuggets of knowledge that I gained from that weekend revival in one post. Though I will leave you with this that God is speaking to you whether you accept it or not, but it’s even more so on our part to take his Word seriously and listen carefully or else you might just miss something amazing. God was/is/will always be Amazing.

So the end of my week 4 and im a little more refreshed and ready to tackle this Camp Manager Job head on, YOSH!

Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts, updates!

Leave a comment